Melissa Chhan- Have Your Cake & Eat It, Too

“You can’t have your cake and eat it, too” is a famous English idiom that translates to: things people want are often incompatible. But in my case, I think you can have your cake and eat it, too. My project is not a holistic tangible sculpture or painting, but a series of experience that encompass all three together by creating socially-engaged works: from workshops, to bake sales to DIY zines (my zine is also called “Have Your Cake & Eat It, Too”). My goal is to make art, activism and baking work together to inform people and empower them to be creative. My passions for art, activism and baking guided me towards incorporating those three subjects together, and I feel that baking is also a great bonding experience and it fills stomachs at the same time—let them eat cake!

Leave a Reply

