Daniel Milton – Choose Your Own History

I decided to make a poetry history book which would teach history by having the correct timeline compared to false ones. In other words it was like a “choose your own story” book with multiple endings. In addition, to compliment each poem I would try to do a collage for each one. I decided to focus on American history from the American Revolution to the Present.

Let me sing this song!
We’re happy you came along!
This is the land of the dead
No more sleeping in bed
It’s the end of the world baby!

World War Three came
Because the world’s powers were lame!
Radiation fell
Now we’re roasting in hell
It’s the end of the world baby!

Come and join me in the Atomic Café
The water is poisoned by the bay
No more women or men
But rocks and rust of what’s been
It’s the end of the world baby!

Khrushchev and Kennedy lost their cools
Now there’s dead fish in the tide pools
The politicians lied!
Now we’re all fried!
It’s the end of the world baby!

Duck and Cover they said
How was that supposed to prevent Joe and Sally from being dead?
Cover your mouth to avoid radiation particle lines
Whoops, just another lie from the officials lacking spines
It’s the end of the world baby!

And here I thought I’d be safe underground
But what we all found
Was that we be dying afterward
There is nothing left to record
It’s the end of the world baby!

Let me clarify
Bomb shelters tend to fly
When the bombs arrived
That’s when we all died
It’s the end of the world baby

Pardon me for being such a morbid host
But hey it’s hard to be a pleasant ghost
I miss the pleasantries of life
But hey at least I have my fife
It’s the end of the world baby!

Leave a Reply

